Sesto Senso 2 - Speed, Current & Hold Settings

  • Posts: 12
  • Thank you received: 5
I've been struggling to get the Sesto Senso 2 behaving reliably with my Esprit 120ED. In the end most of the issues seem to have been resolved by loosening the draw tube.

However, this has now revealed a new issue: When imaging near the zenith I've found that the hold current seems to be insufficient to stop the focuser from succumbing to gravity (assuming the hold current is even being applied).

I notice none of the advanced parameters (acceleration, speed, deceleration, current levels & hold state) are exposed in the current INDI driver. Would it be possible to add support for them?

Many thanks for the excellent work!
Will.
3 years 11 months ago #61925

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 348
  • Thank you received: 69

I will shortly be in the same position as you, although how long it will take for the Esprit 120ED to arrive is anybody's guess at this time!
I had a look at the driver on Github, and you're right, those variables are not exposed. I think Jasem got the command set from Primulace Labs, but I don't know if they shared these settings.
At worst case, these settings should be persistent and if you change them via the WiFi Virtual Handpad then the SestoSenso 2 should continue to use them under INDI (until such time you need to change them again).

I have a question, I have the Sesto Senso v2 already, with the cigarette adapter, I notice that the usual 2.1mm power connectors don't fit the Sesto Senso v2 power port. Do you know what port I can use to avoid the cigarette adapter?
3 years 11 months ago #61970

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 12
  • Thank you received: 5
I just tried to see if the hold current settings would persist if set via the Wifi Virtual Handpad (and also via the Windows ASCOM driver) but it seems that they don't. Or at least, as soon as I connect the INDI driver it seems to reset the hold current resulting in focus slippage - especially towards the zenith.

The hold current setting definitely need to be exposed via INDI as without it focus is going to be highly unreliable with heavier setups. If I get a chance I might take a look at implementing it in the driver myself but that depends on knowing what commands are required... Anyone? :)

Congratulations on the new telescope! The 12VDC socket on the Sesto Senso 2 is 5.5 x 2.5mm barrel socket rather than the more standard 5.5 x 2.1mm barrel socket. I ended up making my own DC cable to run from my Pocket Power Box to the the Sesto Senso 2 which works fine. Alternatively (if you already have 5.5 x 2.1mm cables), you could perhaps get an adapter like this .

If you have any other questions, feel free to drop me a line!
3 years 11 months ago #61972

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 348
  • Thank you received: 69
In the sestosenso2.cpp file at the bottom:
bool CommandSet::loadSlowPreset(char *res)
{
return sendCmd("{\"req\":{\"cmd\":{\"RUNPRESET\":\"slow\"}}}", "RUNPRESET", res);
}

I think that relates to the "Heavy and Slow" preset, in the Wifi, create a new User profile with hold enabled, then just change the profile name "slow" to.... something,

I guess that's how to go about it...

About the adapter, yeah the supplier pointed me to that to, thanks! question answered.

I had anticipated my image train would slip, what with the clutch mechanism on the Esprit, I got the Sesto Senso because of the hold current which I thought would fix it, it definitely needs to be added to the driver.

Jasem will see this, he made the last few commits to that driver I think, shouldn't be too difficult to hack around.
3 years 11 months ago #61973

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Sesto Senso 2 - Speed, Current & Hold Settings - INDI Forum
  • Posts: 348
  • Thank you received: 69

Rendering Error in layout Message/Item: array_keys(): Argument #1 ($array) must be of type array, null given. Please enable debug mode for more information.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.


×

INDI Library v2.0.7 is Released (01 Apr 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

  • Posts: 348
  • Thank you received: 69

Rendering Error in layout Message/Item: array_keys(): Argument #1 ($array) must be of type array, null given. Please enable debug mode for more information.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 12
  • Thank you received: 5

Rendering Error in layout Message/Item: array_keys(): Argument #1 ($array) must be of type array, null given. Please enable debug mode for more information.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 348
  • Thank you received: 69
If you do look at it further, then I may as well attach the full capture, as it is sometimes difficult to identify what is a command and what is a response, and sometimes the two overlap (as you can see in the RUNPRESET_2 section below).

You will also see that I was trying to create a preset in the App, and it was failing - when trying to flip to another preset and then load the user preset back it would fail with "Empty Preset", so in the end I created the Preset with the Wifi Web interface, and then went back to load the preset in the software.

So bear in mind that even Primaluce Labs software has problems with the presets, although it works via the Wifi interface.
Last edit: 3 years 11 months ago by Giles.
3 years 11 months ago #62026
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 348
  • Thank you received: 69
I created an issue for this in Github: github.com/indilib/indi/issues/1262
3 years 10 months ago #63026

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 348
  • Thank you received: 69
I've funded this issue with $20 via Issuehunt

To close the issue, I would expect to be able to Select, Load, Edit and Save the 3 user customizable profiles, and all their relevant settings on the Sesto Senso 2.
3 years 10 months ago #63264

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 12
  • Thank you received: 5
As a quick update to this: I've implemented support for setting all of the motor move rates and voltages (including hold). This all seems to work well. However, while attempting to add support for loading/saving the custom motor presets, I discovered that the Sesto Senso 2 1.3 FW doesn't actually seem to apply the custom motor presets when requested. I'm waiting on a response from the Prima Luce Lab before proceeding as I suspect they'll want to fix the issue in their driver.

Hopefully I'll hear back soon!
The following user(s) said Thank You: Giles
3 years 8 months ago #65409

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 348
  • Thank you received: 69
Thanks - good work.

I found I have so far only able to create / save the presets via the Wifi Web Application, even the supplied Windows applet seemed to have trouble with this.

Unfortunately, via this method I don't think it is possible to see what commands are being sent to the focus controller itself.
3 years 8 months ago #65410

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 1.450 seconds